Phone spam from Wentworth Direct Finance Ltd – advice please?
I had ‘Wentworth Direct Finance Ltd’ call me again today, hard selling me an (expensive) loan. The lady only said that her name was Sharon and that she worked for a Tony Clayton. When I told her that I’d registered with the TPR and I’d asked them not to call me again before, she rudely slammed the phone down. They only use one of those 0870 numbers so I looked them up on Companies House (see below) to see where I could complain in writing. Qu: Has anybody else found a way to stop them calling? Judging from their companies house data they seem rather Del-Boy like:
Wentworth Direct Finance Ltd
Anthony Grant Clayton
4 THE MEWS
WROTHAM ROAD
GRAVESEND
KENT DA13 0QB
Company No. 04017809
Status: Inactive
Date of Incorporation: 20/06/2000
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
Company Type: Private Limited Company
Nature of Business (SIC(03)):
7499 – Non-trading company
Accounting Reference Date: 30/06
Last Accounts Made Up To: 30/06/2006 (DORMANT)
Roche Commercial Finance – Something Very Fishy (Robert Harwood, Micheal Dresder etc..)?
I have like a mug given these people My Passport, My Parners Driving Licence and £1600 and have had nothing but the stress of waiting for 3 Months.
I have tried company searches, FSA searches, tried to find out what I can from Consumer Credit Licences. The the big clue I guess is that they don't have any registration numbers on their website.
These people are completely unregulated unless they are a subsidiary of another company. I'm not totally sure of the legality since the £25K limit was taken off of the 1974 Concumer Credit act this year. However I'm not sure about the finer points of exemption.
All I want to do is finance a pub leasehold. Now Robert Harwood is trying to pursuade me to buy expensive life insurance from one of his contacts before I can proceed. I am getting very frustrated with them. I could have been told my credit record was crap before I forked over £940 for a "Surveyors Fee".
Last I heard, my Passport is in Germany!!!
Any help welcome.
I've done a little more digging.
Roche Commercial Mortgages are a whole swathe of companies accross London. I've counted about 50 so far. When you call the central calling number advertised on the flashy website. You are actually calling a managed call center owned by Regus (UK) who run a whole pile of virtual offices for several companies from its' office rental suite on the 29th floor of 1 Canada Square. Just look up the address "29th floor" "1 Canada Square" on your favourite search engine.
Thompson online has Micheal Dresder as the proprietor. Thats all I know abour him.
Robert Harwood works from the Clerkenwell offices.
Neither are FSA registered although there is a Robert Harwood who works for Openwork in Swindon but I don't think it's him.
Robert Harwood registered and owns the web domain rochecommercial.com though it's managed by mediatemple.net
I could quite legally register Roche Commercial Finance LTD with companies house and steal their thunder;-)
Compliance officer? I haven't seen details of one.
They're probably unregulated and probably don't even have one. They don't even occupy the offices. It's a glorified P.O. box.
I wan't more information before I knee jerk to a general answer.
I want £70K to buy a pub leashold not months of greying hair and legal wrangling.
Are they regulated or not. I can then at least claim back brokers fees if they are.
It's always easier to see a speck of dust on a table in front of you than on the end of your nose. I think this might be the same for the FSA.
_468 x 60_20091205090514.jpg)
